On Location At Newburgh Priory

On the 20th of September the creative team packed up all their kit and kaboodal and headed off to our autumn location shoot venue. The stunning house and gardens of Newburgh Priory, a privately owned country house in Coxwold, York which was founded in 1145. This gorgeous property is still lived and cared for by the family with residential, agricultural and commercial property. The house has many breathtaking traditional rooms with years and years of history which are open to the public during the summer and special events, as well as grand private rooms for weddings and other special occasions. In the grounds you can find traditional topiary gardens around the house and wide expances of land leading toward lakes and woodlands. You can also find a walled garden with a small orchard and greenhouses to explore. Our favourite area had to be the water garden to the back of the property with exotic plants and large ponds with stepping stones and bridges – a great spot for little ones to explore if you are thinking of visting!
















With so many beautiful areas to explore we struggled to decided on locations for our shoot. Our make-up artist Alison set up in the former kitchens of the property and Carley from our creative team set up the rails of clothes while our photographers Nicola and Mike explored the locations with company director Laura and creative assistant Molly.

While the weather was still looking good the team decided to make the most of the lighting and headed to the ruins of the property for a Carly Coatigan photoshoot with models Sharon and Margaret.













The light stayed strong and all the model’s make-up was complete so we gathered the rest of the team including company director Helen and model Jackie and headed for the water garden. Here we found so many areas for great autumnal shots including a small wooden bridge, small woodland areas and rich green backdrops. We photographed more outdoor styles including the Phoebe coats, chunky knits and cosy scarves.
























As the sun continued to shine Laura, Carley and Molly re-styled the models while Alison touched up the make-up and we set up in the walled gardens for some fun team shots in autumn accessories and knitwear.

In the walled gardens we found archways and intricate ironwork gates for the backdrops for more fun loving, natural lifestyle shots! But our luck ran out and the rain began to fall, typical British autumnal weather!




















As we moved inside we strolled down the corridors and found large doorways, grand windows and wall panelling to use as backdrops. Nicola and Mike captured so many great shots against bright blue panelled walls, traditional wooden doorways and stonework. We decided to call it a day and get back to Kit and Kaboodal HQ before the Thursday night Facebook Live!

A few days later and after sorting through thousands of images the photographs were edited and we selected our favourites for marketing and website imagery. Take a look at our homepage to see the photos and keep checking our social media for more location photography!


Kit and Kaboodal


A Little History on Newburgh Priory…


A Priory of the Augustinian Order was founded in 1145 through an original grant of the Newburgh lands by William the Conqueror to Robert de Mowbray. It was his son Roger de Mowbray, who established the Priory in one of the most delightful settings that can be found in this country. Little is known of the Priory from its founding until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1538 by Henry VIII, but since that time Newburgh has benefited by being within the ownership of one family. This can be seen in the great wealth of portraits adorning its walls, from Sir William Bellasis, who converted it into a private residence in 1546, to those of Captain and Mrs Wombwell, the owners
until 1986.

Henry VIII sold Newburgh to one of his chaplains, Anthony de Bellasis (for £1,062) who with his brother Richard was responsible for the dissolution of not only Newburgh , but also eight other monasteries in the north. Anthony’s nephew William, having converted the Priory, set the scene for Newburgh as it is today and, except for the alterations and building work carried out between 1720-1760, the Priory remains very similar to what it was during the Tudor/period.

The Priory remained in the possession of the Bellasis family, who took the title of Fauconberg when created Baron in 1627 (and Viscount in 1642) until 1825. On the death in 1802 of the second Earl of Fauconberg the earldom became extinct and Newburgh was left to Lady Charlotte his eldest daughter (married to Thomas Wynn, who assumed the name of Wynn Bellasis). On her death, in 1825 without male heir, the estate passed to the son of her sister, Lady Anne, who married Sir George Wombwell, 2nd Baronet in 1791, and it was their son George, the future 3rd Baronet, who inherited Newburgh Priory and its estates. The Wombwell Baronetcy was conferred on George Wombwell (1st Baronet) who was an extensive merchant and director. In 1778 he became Chairman of the East Indian Company and was M.P. for Huntingdon from 1774 to 1780.

So today unspoilt and retaining so much of its charm Newburgh is still lived in, and cared for, by the present Baronet and his wife, Sir George and Lady Wombwell and their two children Stephen born 1977 and Sarah born 1980.


Comments are closed here.